Posted in Blog Post, update

Hat of the Cat

So I have been trying to figure out what to make with the random yarn I have that doesn’t have a real project attached to it, and that is when I ran across a video for this Slouchy Cat Hat.

So I dug through my stash and selected something I had forgotten at the bottom of the bin and got to work. This is the end product: 

I found that what seemed to me to be the easiest part of the pattern was actually the part that gave me the most trouble; those darn ears!

Pro tip: when you are sewing the ears, attach the yarn at the top of the hat instead of the side. Doing this won’t warp the rest of the hat as much when you tighten the thread to create the shape of the ears. 

What patterns do you like to use to clean up your stash? Scrap blankets are a popular choice but in my opinion they take up too much space and time to be worth it. 

Let me know what’s on your hook!

Author:

What is HookCrux? HookCrux is derived from "Horcrux", a powerful object in which a Dark wizard or witch has hidden a fragment of his or her soul for the purpose of attaining immortality. I like to think that with every product I make, a fragment of my soul weaves its way into the stitching. I may not have a wand, but with my hook, I can produce magic.

Leave a Reply

